Copyright FOJCX

The 2017 ‘Bicycle Beer’ Victorian CX Series kicked off in style at Fields of Joy – with unusually warm and sunny conditions – a far cry from the rain, hail and wind that this corresponding event has experienced in recent years. Nevertheless, there was still a little mud to satisfy the cyclo-cross purists!

Recently retired 3-time Australian CX champion Lisa Jacobs was a surprise starter in Women’s A Grade and led from the gun, gradually increasing her lead throughout, and eventually taking the chequered flag by more than 2 minutes ahead of Melissa Anset, April McDonough and Tessa Fabry. Lisa was understandably happy with her performance…

Men’s A was taken out by Ben Walkerden, who overcame an early mechanical problem to defeat Dylan Newell, Allan Iacuone and Paul Redenbach.

Podium place getters in each grade are listed below…

Women’s A

Lisa Jacobs (CCCC)

Mel Anset (MTBA)

April McDonough (MTBA)

Men’s A

Ben Walkerden (MTBA)

Dylan Newell (Brunswick)

Allan Iacuone (St Kilda)

Women’s B

Simona Infantino (MCL)

Kadri Poldmets (MTBA)

Courtney Henry (MCL)

Men’s B

Henry Rawling (Brunswick)

Andrew Sleeman (ADF)

Tim Lemmon (CCCC)

Women’s C

Nina Kerr (Ballarat)

Tina Thorburn (Brunswick)

Elizabeth Long (MTBA)

Men’s C

Kyle Sherwood (MTBA)

Lachlan Friend (Brunswick)

Daniel Xuereb (Hawthorn)

The next round of the ‘Bicycle Beer’ Victorian CX Series will take place on Saturday May 27 at Ballarat Showgrounds – under lights!