Copyright BMX Australia

Australia’s sunshine state have something to cheer about, with three Queensland riders recording a 100 per cent success rate en route to winning their respective national series titles last weekend at Cairns BMX Club.

Beenleigh BMX Club’s Des’Ree Barnes (15 girl’s), Ashmore BMX Club’s Molly McGill (16 girls) and Suncoast Hinterland BMX Club’s Dirk Winter (17-29 men) all recorded four from four wins for the series, which fittingly commenced and ended in the Queensland towns of Nerang and Cairns.

While the trio highlight the results from the series, a number of riders came close to claiming a clean sweep, including first time elite men’s series winner Matthew Juster, who tasted victory in all but round two in Shepparton.

Similarly junior elite women’s racer Saya Sakakibara won all rounds except for the finale in Cairns, 14 boy’s rider Buddha Baum found himself in the same boat as Sakakibara.

On the other end of the scale consistency paid off for elite women’s victor Leanna Curtis who won only the final round, as did junior elite men’s rider Izaac Kennedy who significantly stepped up to the plate in 2017. Aislynn Weber turned up the heat on home turf in Cairns to win the 17+ women’s class.

Western Australia’s Corey Taylor had a strong run in 2017, placing second in Nerang and Shepparton, breaking through for victory in Bathurst at the start of March. While Cairns didn’t yield his strongest result, it was enough to account for a fast-finishing Oliver Moran.

Other series winners included Luke Marsh in the 30+ Masters, who beat Luke Barnes to the title. Incredibly neither rider won a race all season. New Zealand’s Cailen Calkin won the 16-year’s-boy’s class, but faced challenges from Brad Shaylor, and Wade Mundie (among others), who won the first and fourth rounds respectively.

Meanwhile in the 14-year’s-girl’s class the wins were shared by Paige Harding, who won rounds one and two and Shannon Petre. Harding claimed the title; with a third place in Shepparton for Petre her Achilles heel in a very well ridden season.

While the Chambikx/Probikx UCI Series may be over, the Grands Assault still has one more round to run, and will be the appetizer to the 2017 BMX Australia National Championships in Brisbane.