Copyright Cycling Australia

Cycling Australia is excited to announce that the National Road Championships will be staying in Ballarat for the next three years thanks to the support of the Victorian Government and City of Ballarat.

The new partnership with the Victorian Government and City of Ballarat will see Australia’s best road cycling talent battling it out for the coveted green and gold jerseys in Ballarat for a 12th consecutive year.

“The famous ‘Road Nats’ are going nowhere – they’re right at home in the cycling capital of Australia,” said the Hon John Eren, Minister for Sport and Minister for Major Events and Tourism.

Minister Eren continued, “We’re working hard to lock in the very best cycling races because we know they mean more jobs and more visitors for Victoria, and that means a stronger economy.”

Following a successful hosting of the 2017 event in front of over 20,000 local, interstate and overseas fans, Cycling Australia is undertaking a range of initiatives to take the event to the next level. A review of the famous Mount Buninyong circuit is currently underway, and, over the course of the agreement, Cycling Australia is working towards an expanded competition schedule that will give fans more days of racing.

Chair of Cycling Australia and Ballarat local the Hon Steve Bracks AC said it was fantastic to have the event return to Ballarat.

“We are delighted to be continuing our partnership with the City of Ballarat to keep the famous ‘Road Nats’ in Ballarat.

“The Ballarat community has shown its support to the National Road Championships for over a decade and that’s why we’re pleased to announce it will stay here until 2020” Mr. Bracks said today.

“Today’s announcement is not just about an iconic event that is a fixture on the Aussie cycling calendar and which has significant tourism and economic benefits for the region. It’s also about Cycling Australia working closely with the Victorian Government and the City of Ballarat to build a cycling strategy that positions this area as a year-round cycling destination with better outcomes for cyclists at all levels.”

The Road Nationals Championships will be held from 3 – 7 January 2018 and leads into Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games in April.

2017 Champions


Men’s Elite – Caleb Ewan (Orica SCOTT)

Women’s Elite – Jess Allen (Orica SCOTT)

U23 Men’s – Alex Porter (SAS1)

U23 Women’s – Nicola MacDonald (Subaru NSWIS)

Time Trial

Men’s Elite – Rohan Dennis (BMC)

Women’s Elite – Katrin Garfoot (Orica SCOTT)

U23 Women’s – Alexandra Manly (Orica SCOTT)

U23 Men’s – Callum Scotson (BMC Development Team)

Road Race

Men’s – Miles Scotson (BMC)

Women’s – Katrin Garfoot (Orica SCOTT)

U23 Women’s – Alexandra Manly (Orica SCOTT)

U23 Men’s – Sam Jenner (NSWIS)