Copyright Rally Cycling

In the men’s race, the team stayed focused on defending the red jersey of Evan Huffman and rode at or near the front of the race for most of the laps in downtown Silver City. With the pace high throughout, no breakaway was able to stay clear, and with five laps to go, it was evident the stage would be decided in a sprint finale. In the closing laps, Adam de Vos, Danny Pate, and Colin Joyce made sure Young was positioned for the final sprint. Young charged out of the last corner, crossing the line to give the Rally men their fourth victory salute in New Mexico. The win was Young’s second Tour of the Gila stage victory of 2017, and his fifth in total.

“I was able to sit in today and save my legs for a sprint,” said Young. “We wouldn’t have minded if a small breakaway had gotten away and taken the win, but criterium racing is always chaotic, and even though a lot of guys tried, nothing stuck. I had an excellent position being second through the final corner and had a good sprint. I’m proud of how each guy is racing this week, how we’ve pulled together as a team and are racing as one unified group. I believe we can cap it off with the general classification victory tomorrow.”

Young stands atop the podium for the second time this week

Tomorrow is the final and toughest stage of the Tour of the Gila – the infamous Gila Monster Road Race. The men of Rally Cycling will look to keep Evan Huffman in the red jersey while the women’s team will aim for another stage victory and to move White up the general classification.

Australian results: Stage 4 Tour of the Gila 22nd April

1              Eric Young (USA) Rally Cycling     1:30:19

2              Travis Mccabe (USA) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team

3              Jose Alfredo Rodriguez Victoria (Mex) Elevate – KHS Pro Cycling

7              Michael Rice (Aus) Axeon Hagens Berman

25           James Fouche (Aus) Mobius Future Racing

32           Joseph Lewis (Aus) Holowesko / Citadel Racing p/b Hincapie Sportswear

39           Karl Menzies (Aus) Cylance Cycling

40           Evan Huffman (USA) Rally Cycling

63           Peter Livingstone (Aus) Mobius Future Racing

85           Samuel Burston (Aus) Mobius Future Racing       0:00:16

88           Scott Bradburn (Aus) Mobius Future Racing

92           Ben Carman (Aus) Mobius Future Racing

94           Ethan Berends (Aus) Mobius Future Racing

98           Angus Morton (Aus) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis  0:00:22

106         Lachlan Norris (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team

127         Jonathan Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team         0:01:04