Copyright Cycling Australia

With the men’s 2017 Subaru National Road Series (NRS) season opener fast approaching, 2016 champion team IsoWhey Sports Swiss Wellness are looking to pick up where they left off at the Grafton to Inverell on 13 May.

The merger between the IsoWhey Sports and Swiss Wellness teams ahead of 2017 has strengthened the already powerful squad. Adding further depth to the team roster and expanding their already popular status among fans.

After a stellar start to 2017, IsoWhey Sports Swiss Wellness have reaffirmed their goal of winning the Subaru NRS teams classification for the eighth year in a row.

“Our goal is to win the teams classification again, if we can get the individual too that’s a massive bonus but the team comes first,” said directeur sportif and part-owner Andrew Christie-Johnston.

“Despite having more and more races in Asia and Europe the [Subaru] NRS remains a big part of our racing calendar. It very important for the development of our riders, especially the younger guys who are just cutting their teeth,” Christie-Johnston explained.

Following an impressive start to the season during the Australian Summer of Cycling at the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic and MARS Cycling Australia Road National Championships, IsoWhey Sports Swiss Wellness carried their success to the Oceania and Asia Tours.

2016 series winner Joseph Cooper claimed the overall title at the New Zealand Cycle Classic. The third year in a row the team has taken top honours at the race.

Before a return to Malaysia at Le Tour de Langkawi saw the UCI continental team claim the overall team classification, off the back of a stage win by Commonwealth Games track champion Scott Sunderland and Cameron Bayly’s second overall.

“There have been quite a few,” Christie-Johnston said of the nine new signings for 2017 while retaining the majority of the 2016 team.

Joining the aforementioned Sunderland and Bayly are Rio Olympian Scott Bowden, former BMC rider Tim Roe and 2016 Melbourne to Warrnambool winner Nathan Elliott.

2016 under 23 criterium national champion Jesse Kerrison adds sprinting strength with Chris Harper, Alistair Christie-Johnston and Jeremy Cameron rounding out the new riders.

Existing stars including Oceania Champion Sean Lake, Sam Crome, Anthony Giacoppo and Joe Cooper mean the team will be as strong as ever when the flag is dropped and the season starts next month.

To follow all the action be sure to like the Subaru NRS facebook page and follow it on Instagram and Twitter.