Copyright LottoNL-Jumbo

Dylan Groenewegen won the first stage in the Tour de Yorkshire today. At the port of Scarborough, the team LottoNL-Jumbo sprinter was faster than Caleb Ewan and Chris Opie. However, the victory had a nasty taste. Team leader Steven Kruijswijk hit the deck hard, but seems to be OK.

“I am pleased that I could sprint for the stage win,” said Groenewegen. “It was a hard stage and on the climb I was in the second group. The team made a big effort to bring me back in front. It’s beautiful that I won. All the praise goes to my team-mates.”

According to Groenewegen, it was clear that Robin Hood’s Bay would be difficult. “We knew the climb was heavy. I was pretty tired, but the team brought me back well. It was important to win here. This is what you do it for.”

After the top of the climb, 28 kilometres remained to the finish. In the streets of Scaborough, the road went up. “I felt my legs and dropped back. Fortunately, Tom Leezer was there and dropped back from the front. In the last straight line, Bouhanni started sprinting. He shifted a bit, leaving space for me. Finally, Ewan came close, but I had the win.”

Addy Engels

“It’s cliché to say, but this was really a victory for the team,” added Sports Director Addy Engels. “We knew Dylan would get tough on the climb. We therefore said in advance that the team had to wait for him. They did, and on top of the climb they could already start the pursuit. Soon Groenewegen returned to participate for the victory.”

Kruijswijk crashes

In the last hundred metres there was a massive crash. Steven Kruijswijk was involved.

“It’s bad that Steven crahses, but at first glance he seems alright,” added Engels.

Kruijswijk is in Yorkshire to finish his preparations before starting the 100th Giro d’Italia.


Australian results: Stage 1 Tour de Yorkshire 28th April

1              Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo             4:09:38

2              Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott

3              Chris Opie (GBr) Bike Channel Canyon

5              Steele Von Hoff (Aus) One Pro Cycling

60           Ben O’Connor (Aus) Dimension Data

63           Chris Hamilton (Aus) Team Sunweb

79           Mathew Hayman (Aus) Orica-Scott          0:01:27

80           Mitch Docker (Aus) Orica-Scott  0:01:28

92           Taylor Karl Gunman (NZl) Madison Genesis         0:02:09

93           Brenton Jones (Aus) JLT Condor

119         Matthew Brammeier (Irl) Aqua Blue Sport           0:07:43

123         Miles Scotson (Aus) BMC Racing Team