Copyright Cycling Australia

21 riders were crowned Australian Champions as the 2017 Australian Para-Cycling Road National Championships got underway in Langwory Victoria, April 28.

Australia’s Paralympic stars were on fine form with reigning world and Paralympic champion Carol Cooke (VIC) storming to gold in the women’s T2. London Paralympic gold medallist David Nicholas (QLD) who also tasted gold on the track in Rio was also in dominating form taking out the men’s C3 category.

In the men’s C4 race 2015 world champion and Rio Paralympic silver medallist Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) took gold by over six minutes on his closest competition. Stuart Tripp (VIC) who claimed silver in the H5 time trial in Rio last year added another national title to his name.

Fresh from two world titles on the track in March Amanda Reid (NSW) added to her fast growing selection of medals in the C2 with Simone Kennedy (NSW) tasting more success in the C3.

Darcy Thompson (SA-C1), Emilie Miller (NSW-H1), Karen Harvey (WA-H4), Garry Robinson (NSW-T1) successfully defended their titles from a year ago.

While Darren Hicks (SA-C2), Matt Tozer (SA-C5), Kaitlyn Schurmann (VIC-C1), Meg Lemon (SA-C4), Fatema Tajbhai (VIC-C5), Grant Nickel (NSW-H1), Michael Taylor (VIC-H3), Grant Allen (SA-H4) and Stuart Jones (NSW-T2) claimed gold in an exciting showing from a large field. The tandem titles went to Kieran Murphy (SA) and Lindy Hou (ACT).

Time Trial Champions

Men’s Cycling C1: Darcy Thompson (SA)

Men’s Cycling C2: Darren Hicks (SA)

Men’s Cycling C3: David Nicholas (QLD)

Men’s Cycling C4: Kyle Bridgwood (QLD)

Men’s Cycling C5: Matt Tozer (SA)

Women’s Cycling C1: Kaitlyn Schurmann (VIC)

Women’s Cycling C2: Amanda Reid (NSW)

Women’s Cycling C3: Simone Kennedy (NSW)

Women’s Cycling C4: Meg Lemon (SA)

Women’s Cycling C5: Fatema Tajbhai (VIC)

Men’s Handcycle H1: Grant Nickel (NSW)

Men’s Handcycle H3: Michael Taylor (VIC)

Men’s Handcycle H4: Grant Allen (SA)

Men’s Handcycle H5: Stuart Tripp (VIC)

Women’s Handcycle H1: Emilie Miller (NSW)

Women’s Handcycle H4: Karen Harvey (WA)

Men’s Tricycle T1: Garry Robinson (NSW)

Men’s Tricycle T2: Stuart Jones (NSW)

Women’s Tricycle T2: Carol Cooke (VIC)

Men’s Tandem: Kieran Murphy (SA)

Women’s Tandem: Lindy Hou (ACT)