The 2018 Cycling Australia Track National Championships begins in Brisbane today, with the four-day event also the final hit out on the the Anna Meares Velodrome for Australia’s best track cyclists prior to the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

DAY 1 PREVIEW Thursday 1 February: Session 1: 2pm (1 final); Session 2: 7pm (9 finals):

The 2018 TrackNats action gets underway with ten green and gold jerseys on offer on the opening day.

The first green and gold jersey on offer comes in the afternoon session in the men’s time trial.  Matthew Glaetzer (SA), who scorched to the fastest time at sea-level last November in Manchester, plus defending champion Nick Yallouris (NSW) plus Pat Constable (SA) will be ones to watch.

The evening will feature a host of team events including the team sprint, with South Australia looking for a third crown on the trot in the men’s and seventh in the women’s. The fields will include Glaetzer, Steph Morton and Pat Constable (SA), Kaarle McCulloch (NSW) and Jacob Schmid (VIC).  

In the team pursuit there will be five rainbow jerseys on show through Sam Welsford (WA), Alex Porter and Rohan Wight (SA), Nick Yallouris (NSW) and Kelland O’Brien (VIC). 

In the women’s, former world champions Annette Edmondson (SA) and Ash Ankudinoff (NSW) will headline the women’s field.  

Hometown fans will be looking to the maroon outfits which will feature Kristina Clonan and KatGarfoot in the women’s, and Jordan Kerby in the men’s.