Enrico Battaglin (Team Lotto NL-Jumbo) took his revenge at Santa Ninfa after losing his duel to Tim Wellens at Caltagirone yesterday. By winning an uphill sprint against Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain-Merida) who was racing on home soil in Sicily, Battaglin extended his Giro d’Italia account to three after he won stage 4 in 2013 and stage 5 in 2014 with his first success for the Dutch team he joined in 2016. It’s also the third Italian stage victory in only five stages this year. Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) retained the Maglia Rosa for the fourth consecutive day on the eve of the first summit at the Etna.

The stage winner Enrico Battaglin said: “After my second stage victory at the Giro d’Italia in 2014, I haven’t been as consistent as I wanted. In 2015, I had a very bad crash from which I have never completely recovered. In 2016 I had a good Giro at the service of Steven Kruijswijk who was still leading with two days to go. Every Giro I did was positive, I was only missing a personal victory in the past four years. I’ve fought to come back to my best level. Yesterday I made a small mistake in the finale but I had good legs and it was confirmed today. Stage 11 to Osimo is similar to today’s. There will also be mountain stages that I’ll try to win from a breakaway.”


  • Three Italian victories in the first five stages: which hasn’t happened since 2009 when Alessandro Petacchi took Stages 2 and 3 and Stefano Garzelli won Stage 4.
  • It’s the 11th podium for Giovanni Visconti at the Giro d’Italia. He was also second on Stage 8 to Peschici last year and on Stage 13 to Cividale del Friuli two years ago. His last stage win at the Giro was on Stage 17 to Vicenza in 2013.
  • It’s the first podium at the Giro for José Gonçalves. The only Portuguese stage winner at the Giro d’Italia so far is Acacio Da Silva whose last success was on the Etna in 1989.
  • Rohan Dennis took the 27th Maglia Rosa for an Australian rider and the 70th leader’s jersey in a Grand Tour (34 at the Tour de France, 9 at La Vuelta). The first Australian to lead a Grand Tour was Phil Anderson on 30 June 1981 at the Tour de France in Saint-Lary-Soulan.

1 – Enrico Battaglin (Team Lotto NL – Jumbo) – 153km in 4h06’33”, average speed 37.233km/h
2 – Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain – Merida) s.t.
3 – José Gonçalves (Team Katusha Alpecin) s.t.

1 – Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team)
2 – Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) at 1″
3 – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott) at 17″